SINGAPORE HISTORY

Kangkar: A Fishing Story

In my talk at the Punggol Regional Library, I share stories about the history of Kangkar, its residents’ daily lives, and its eventual (re)development

Shawn Seah
14 min readAug 2, 2023

--

Artist’s impression of Kangkar fishing village. Illustrated by Jeyasoorya and commissioned by Shawn Seah.

This story was for a public lecture on a history of Aukang and Punggol

Good morning! As you probably already know, I’m Shawn, a history enthusiast. I’m a worker by day, writer by night, and speaker by weekend.

As this is the weekend, I’m here to speak with you.

Before I begin, I would first like to thank the National Library Board for inviting me to speak at the library and share stories.

Here at the Punggol Regional Library, I previously shared some stories from the kampung (village) as well as other stories on Singapore’s pioneers.

I would also like to thank you all for spending your valuable time with me. As usual, I promise that you will discover new things you did not know, and revisit things you did know. But I don’t promise to know or cover everything.

The backstory goes like this: on 19 September 2020, I first launched My Father’s Kampung: A History of Aukang and Punggol over Zoom. This e-launch was kindly co-organised by World Scientific…

--

--

Shawn Seah

Singaporean writer and public speaker, passionate about education, social issues, and local history and community stories.